Approaching One Year

Danny blogged last night about the fact that it is almost a year now since we first met in Second Life and about some of the changes that have occurred over that time.

It hasn’t always been easy for us, as regular readers of this blog will know, but we’ve pulled through together and become stronger for it.

Relationships in either world take time to mature and settle into what they will truly become. The stereotype of “boy meets girl, they fall in love, marry, and live happily ever after” can be complicated by so many things, in our case probably none more so than the fact that we are both still coming to terms with our own perceived genders and learning how to feel free to express ourselves in more comfortable ways, both to each other and those around us.

Danny is not just a hunk (MY hunk) in SL but is also totally a male of the species in mind and spirit too, and his acute perceptions and analysis of my personality, expressions, foibles, concerns, desires and general manner have helped me to validate my own feelings of gender, as I hope to have been able to do for him. The love, support and encouragement from my SL friends has also been amazing and must never be overlooked or forgotten.

Danny said to me very early on that he considered I was already “fully formed” as a woman otherwise, as he put it, he “wouldn’t have gotten near me”, but I’m so glad he did because he truly does make me feel like a “Natural Woman” the whole time.

That “Real Life” game out there continues to pour stresses and strains on my daily life, especially with difficulties surrounding my referral for psychological appraisal with a view to my commencing gender realignment, so much so that I am in the process of trying to start up a local TG support group in my area in order to provide an information pool for local transgender people of all ages and to offer an opportunity for people to meet in a friendly, non-confrontational environment where freedom of expression would be encouraged. For someone such as myself with Executive Function difficulties it will be a struggle, but there is a definite need and one could wait for ever for someone else to start the ball rolling.

I am back in business, so to speak, with regard to being able to access Photoshop, something which is a blessed relief having tried and fought endlessly with that diabolical bug-ridden crap-fest called Gimp, so at least I can make some progress with my fledgling SL fashion business when the inspiration strikes.

Less than 2 weeks to go now to the first anniversary of Danny and I meeting, and I’m looking forward to many more anniversaries in the future, both on SL and out there one day in that Real World.

Leave a Reply

